two poems from Sati

I have two poems that I wrote after my dad died. Here they are..

The process..

I see you take in a shallow sip of air
gently tether the pulse
for just a while.

I watch you keep the patterned cycle
flowing softly
now and then.

In the space between
I hear a new sound
Playing with the breath.

In the space between
I sense an opening
dancing with forces.

In the space between
I feel the leaving
Of one heart for a greater.

In the space between
I see how gently you pick it up,
embrace the beauty that you are.

 

and this one too..

For Tim.

We wrap your form, carry you,
feeling the bodies weight
one last time, watching.

Details of your form
the lines and moles,
the tiny frame, humbled by the struggles
show a heart that sought freedom
that carried burdens silently
and too alone.

Even coldness has a holy touch-
your forehead white and proud against my hand.
I am in the domain of angels,
humans- what can they do here?
In a place of remnants
where all we know has fallen
leaving a shell for angels and the earth
to cherish and take apart in their holy way.

Love,
Sati

3 thoughts on “two poems from Sati

  1. Beautiful , breathless poetry. Thankyou so much for sharing such a person experiance….very special. Such a heightened sense of reality at the passing of ones father.

  2. beautiful Sati, I really get the sense of Tim through these words.. thank you for sharing them. I remember him so well and i appreciate that you decant something of who he was in such imagery….

    “Details of your form
    the lines and moles,
    the tiny frame, humbled by the struggles
    show a heart that sought freedom
    that carried burdens silently
    and too alone.”

    wow – indeed – Humans, what can they do here?

Leave a Reply

